Anna Rose Nelson, summer research in Basel

October 02, 2019

This summer, theorist Anna Rose Nelson was awarded a one-month stipend from the Paul Sacher Stiftung in Basel, Switzerland to conduct research pertaining to her dissertation on miniature forms in modernist compositions. While she was there, she spent the bulk of her time carefully analyzing the sketch material available for Brian Ferneyhough's Sonatas for String Quartet (1967), which was conceived in five large movements but exists in published form as 24 short "fragments." Thanks to help from Dr. Simon Obert, she was also lucky enough to study sketches for Anton Webern's Sechs Bagatellen (1911/1913) and a small book the composer kept with a record of the items in his library, complete with two preserved four-leaf clovers!


Recent Posts

SMR Hosts Holiday Movie Night – December 06, 2021

Pre-Candidate Abstract-Writing Workshop – November 30, 2021

SMR at SEM 2021 – November 23, 2021

Fall 2021 Anti-Racism Reading Group Meeting – November 19, 2021

Dissertation Writing Group, Fall 2021 – November 17, 2021

First 2021–22 General Assembly – September 20, 2021

SMR Welcome BBQ 2021 – September 13, 2021

Lisa Decenteceo defends dissertation – July 21, 2021

Sort by Category

Blog Archive